The Next Big Thing

We’re home. At last. I’ve got people calling every five minutes offering support and help. I’m going to go into that in the next blog. In the meantime, I met a terrific writer who offered me the chance to talk about my writing. But before I go on about me, let me take a second to talk about her.

Nicole Hayes wrote a book called, THE WHOLE OF MY WORLD.

It’s a young adult story about a girl whose relationship with her father becomes strained after her mother dies, and the confusing relationship she develops with a football star coming to the end of his career. It comes out later this year, published by Random House in Australia. I cannot wait to read it. You can read more about it here: http://melbournemusing.blogspot.co.nz/

Nicole kindly offered me the chance to join in this blog meme and talk about the book that I’ve written. According to the format of this ‘tag team’ there are a number of questions that each recipient answers. So with no further ado, here goes:

1>  What is the working title of your current/next book?

The book I wrote two years ago is currently titled THE CANDIDATE’S DAUGHTER. I say currently because that could change. 

2)      Where did the idea come from?

It occurred to me that the worst thing a parent could endure would be the abduction of their child. Then I wanted to add in a further complication of the child being disabled. It added an emotional layer to the story. 

3)      What genre does your book fall under?

This was a weird one. I had someone tell me that on the one hand, I had the pace and tone of a mass market thriller, but with aspects of a literary suspense thrown in. It’s hard to classify. The story is told from the perspective of Kelsey, the streetwise girl who kidnaps a disabled child, then abandons everything and everyone she knows in order to save her; and Elizabeth, the mother who must overcome her failures as a mother and sets out to find her daughter before it’s too late. This is not the story of a kidnapped child. This is the story of two women who walk away from their own broken lives to search for a stolen child, and in doing so, rediscover the strength they’ve lost along the way.  I’d say it straddles the line and winds up falling into something between thriller and women’s fiction. 

4)      What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

When I wrote THE CANDIDATE’S DAUGHTER, the singer Pink was the inspiration behind my character Kelsey. Others may disagree. I never had actors in mind when I wrote this story. If it ever came to a movie, I’d probably be happy with Jennifer Lawrence as Kelsey. Who wouldn’t? 

5)      What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A mother faces up to her rejection of her disabled child and sets out alone to find her, unaware that the young kidnapper is doing the same. 

6)      Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m currently searching for an agent. Who knows? 

7)      How long did it take you to write the first draft?

The first draft took around five months. It was a whirlwind affair and at no time did I doubt the story. I was enormously fortunate to catch the eye of Sara J. Henry who took me under her wing and helped me address some areas that weren’t working, and to get it into shape for submission. 

8)      What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I have no idea. No book is unique, but because this is a strange mix because it has elements of a fast-paced thriller, alternating with literary suspense. 

9)      Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My daughter – The Girl. She is my muse. Always will be. 

10)  What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

This story has a lot of heart. It examines some of the emotional rollercoaster rides I’ve faced as the mother of a disabled child. There’s a lot of me in it. 

Here are some more writers to watch out for: 

Nikki Stuckwisch: Nikki is an ER doctor, a new medical thriller writer and a fantastic lady. She’s recently been picked up by an agent who knew talent when she saw it. Nikki writes a blog about things medical, and you can find it here: http://t.co/Sv1kxLRH 

Cat Connor: Cat is the author of the SSA Ellie Conway crime thriller novels. Her books are available in paperback and e-formats. Cat writes amidst the chaos of children. She constantly wonders why she’s always running out of duct tape. http://catconnor.blogspot.co.nz/ 

PJ McIlvaine is a screenwriter/writer/journalist/blogger/baker who has won the Tour De France 15 times in a row.  In her spare time which is increasingly spare, she can be found huddled in a corner, babbling incoherently clutching a headless Barbie. Find out more here: http://15milliondollarbunny.wordpress.com/

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Next Big Thing

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing « rosieohara

  2. eporter70

    Good luck with your noveling and for the links to the other bloggers.

Leave a Reply

